Maloarkhangelsk is a town that inspired Pushkin and Gogol with its emphasized hospitality, hyper-care and funny situations. Feel like a hero of the "The Inspector General" in the Russian province.
Immortal work “The Government Inspector”
The end in the dispute about the city of Russia where events that formed the basis of Nikolai Gogol's comedy "The Inspector General" were put in 1890 by the magazine "Russian Starina": in May 1829, Alexander Pushkin has been traveling to the south, stayed in Maloarkhangelsk and was mistaken for a high-ranking St. Petersburg inspector. When everything was clarified, he shared this story with Nikolai Gogol and presented him with the plot of an immortal comedy.
In 1836 censorship was strongly opposed to the "The Government Inspector". Vasily Zhukovsky recommended Emperor Nicholas I to read a comedy, and afterwards he gives his high permission to be staged. Despite this, in Orel and Irkutsk, the governors banned "The Inspector General" even before it was staged.
The river flows from far away…
The Oka brings 1,3 times more water to the walls of the Nizhny Novgorod Kremlin than Volga river. The source of the river, which flows into the Caspian Sea, is located in the village Aleksandrovka (Glazunovsky District of Oryol Region).
Once there was a lake in the form of an eye, from which, according to legend, three rivers flowed. And today, leaning your ear to the ground, you can hear the noise of stormy rivers’ streams. Point of confluence of the biggest European rivers Volga, Don, Dnieper is located not far from here.
Folk legends and fairy tales keep memory about strong, but tragic love of Oka and Kama rivers alive.
Many thousands of years ago, the Oka washed out clayey and limestone rocks, forming multi-tiered halls, terraces, countless niches and passages. The town of Oryol also stands on an extensive caves system.
Tsar’s and other “living” stones
Not far from the village Verkhosenye, there are huge stones of fancy shapes.
Some believe that these are the ruins of a temple of an ancient civilization, others that these stones literally grow out of the ground, and finally others that the stones were created by a volcanic source. The belief about the amazing healing power of “living” stones is passed on from generation to generation. Each of them cures a specific disease.
Locals say this is a "place of power" and tell legends associated with it. According to one of these legends, at the end of the 16th century, there was a raid of the Crimean horde in these places. The monks who settled here gave a firm rebuff. The struggle dragged on until morning. By morning, a thick fog covered the neighborhood and the monastery. Only by day, the fog cleared. Panic seized the invaders: there was neither a monastery, nor people.It was only the bell ringing of the site of monastery. The enemy quickly left this "frightening place".
The "Tsar's Stone" is among other stones. There is an inscription on it: “1912. the 14 th of July. Saturday". On the left side there is the image of the royal crown, below — six initials. It is believed that in 1912 the royal family secretly visited this place.
You can comfortably stay at the recreation center "Laguna". Phone: +7 (999) 601-54-76